Author Topic: Empty mod breaks game?  (Read 1112 times)

djs4000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Empty mod breaks game?
« on: January 07, 2015, 07:39:38 am »
So I started trying to play with mods and doing some simple edits, but the game seems to break no matter what I do. Just having an empty mpk (with the header file of course) breaks the game even if I don't have it loaded in the ModsConfig.xml... Im sure it's something I'm doing wrong, but I cant wrap my head around it...

Here's what I get instead of the main menu: http://i.imgur.com/ljSZAx7.jpg (an asteroid occasionally flies by, but thats it)
Here's the log file: http://pastebin.com/WKQ77626
Here's the mod: http://expirebox.com/download/95bc9c8765d4c45101d681a2884a9ab9.html

this happened on the steam version 0.15 and .016. The modfile is just a zip containg a modified header.xml i got from core.cpk that was renamed to mod.mpk and placed in the %USERPROFILE%\Documents\AtomicTorchStudio\VoidExpanse\Mods\

ai_enabled

  • AtomicTorch Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
    • View Profile
Re: Empty mod breaks game?
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2015, 07:33:03 pm »
Hello!
The header.xml must be placed in the root of the mod zip file. So, the correct structure of the mod zip file :
Code: [Select]
root
-->  header.xml
-->  content/
-->  data/
We will improve our wiki in this aspect.
Regards!

Lurler

  • AtomicTorch Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1024
    • View Profile
Re: Empty mod breaks game?
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2015, 03:35:25 am »

djs4000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Empty mod breaks game?
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2015, 04:48:54 am »
I could've sworn that was already on the wiki. I'm just a big dummy and didnt realize when I tell windows to zip a folder, it puts the folder in the zip rather than make the folder the root of the zip. It was late last night and despite triple checking i still must have missed it lol