Mouse aiming (turn ship towards cursor)

Started by Sire, April 04, 2014, 09:18:09 AM

Sire

Hi guys!

I feel the current movement method is a bit too difficult to master, especially for beginners. You need to work too many movements together. Ship turning, ship strafing, ship acceleration/braking and also a separate weapon aiming. And I'm a drummer so I should be pretty good at stuff like this :)

I'm sure you'll get better with a few hours of training, but right now the difficult movement makes me much less interested in an otherwise EXTREMELY interesting game (that I bought immediately).

My suggestion is to change, or add an option for another, movement method where you aim and turn with the mouse cursor. This feels so obvious I'm guessing you've actively decided against this method? If so, I hope you're willing to reconsider.

If you think it's "dumbing down" your game, just lower the experience reward to 75% (or something similar) when using "beginner controls".

I think you guys deserve that this game turn into a huge success, and I hope you're not letting a petty thing like this stand in the way.

Thanks and keep up the good work!

Sire

Lurler

We received a few suggestions to implement direct mouse control and it is something we will certainly look into.

But it seems the main problem with controls that people have is because they are not aware they can use SPACE to stop their ship. It makes it much easier when you use it.

Sire

Thanks for considering this! I'm sure it will improve the game :)

catmorbid

It's very simple to implement it. But just remember to also implement a hold-toggle button that will switch the control mode, because bigger and slower ships can actually utilize the mobile turrets vs static movement better.