Author Topic: Unable to launch server  (Read 3474 times)

Mr_Mayhem

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Unable to launch server
« on: March 10, 2015, 02:02:21 am »
greetings, yesterday after watching few videos about this game done by mr. Yippee Ki Yay Mr Falcon.
i bought this game, i managed without problem login into game, but then error message saying unable to launch server appeared even when trying launch single player game.
found log folder and this is my latest launch of a game log
https://www.dropbox.com/s/qc272sp7ihx7o6n/Log_VoidExpanse_Client_2015-03-10_09-45.log?dl=0
any tips how to fix this issue would be appreciated

ai_enabled

  • AtomicTorch Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1273
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to launch server
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2015, 02:07:31 am »
Hello!
Do you have any anti-virus software running?
Please try to add "C:\Users\Jan\AppData\Local\AtomicTorchStudio\Launcher\Games\VoidExpanse\Server_dotNET\VoidExpanse.Server.exe" to the exclusions list.

ai_enabled

  • AtomicTorch Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1273
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to launch server
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2015, 02:09:33 am »
If still no luck, please try to launch the game server executable manually - full path to it is "C:\Users\Jan\AppData\Local\AtomicTorchStudio\Launcher\Games\VoidExpanse\Server_dotNET\VoidExpanse.Server.exe"

Mr_Mayhem

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to launch server
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2015, 02:23:24 am »
Hello!
Do you have any anti-virus software running?
Please try to add "C:\Users\Jan\AppData\Local\AtomicTorchStudio\Launcher\Games\VoidExpanse\Server_dotNET\VoidExpanse.Server.exe" to the exclusions list.

Thank you for quick reply, your solution worked.

ai_enabled

  • AtomicTorch Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1273
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to launch server
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2015, 02:24:15 am »
Thank you for quick reply, your solution worked.
You're welcome!

Mr_Mayhem

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to launch server
« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2015, 05:57:10 am »
sorry to bother you again, after few hours of playing single-player game crashed, because some networking issue and then i found out that i don't have any savegame. tried new game and after starting new single-player campaign and right after that save and exit, but no save to be found, tried turning off antivirus completely without effect

whole session with crash
https://www.dropbox.com/s/avttv4l72sqkxhe/Log_VoidExpanse_Client_2015-03-10_10-18.log?dl=0

just starting new game and "saving"
https://www.dropbox.com/s/9g0wel7xzdcu7ih/Log_VoidExpanse_Client_2015-03-10_13-37.log?dl=0

ai_enabled

  • AtomicTorch Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1273
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to launch server
« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2015, 06:04:09 am »
Could you upload whole logs folder please? (it contains the server logs also)
Also there are must be the folder "Documents/AtomicTorchStudio/VoidExpanse/Saves". Do you have any saves in it?

Mr_Mayhem

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to launch server
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2015, 06:11:41 am »
this is all i got i log folder
https://www.dropbox.com/s/nynrm2qx23e1ozk/Logs.rar?dl=0
and all i have in saves folder is subfolder slot_0 where is one picture called screenshot.jpg

ai_enabled

  • AtomicTorch Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1273
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to launch server
« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2015, 06:49:25 am »
Oh... that's terrible... I've downloaded the logs, but:
1.  there are no server logs.
2.  there are no savegame data written - the folder slot_0 should have three more files: save_info.data save.data world.data.
All this data created by the server application...
It seems that server was unable to write to the Documents folder. I'm sure it happens because the antivirus or any other protection software has been disallowed to access Documents folder. The screenshot.jpg is created by the client, that's why it present, but not data.
I'm sorry about it, but the game cannot expect such a problem and tell you early that it not work properly - it seems that files was written succesfully, but they were placed in a temporary antivirus sandbox to disallow modification of the user files, and (maybe) were removed after server application closed.
Please try to temporary off the antivirus software, start new game, then comeback to the main menu and try to load the save game.

kyokei

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 475
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to launch server
« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2015, 08:33:01 am »
Maybe simply running the game as Administrator will solve this issue?
Worth a shot right

Mr_Mayhem

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to launch server
« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2015, 10:24:23 am »
thanks for help, after some messing around i found out that all i needed was fresh installation of game, and giving it antivirus exceptions before trying to run game.