Author Topic: (1.1.18) Unable to load games, both newly created and exsiting.  (Read 6342 times)

Ohfive30

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Please note: the game was working yesterday when it was the non-steam 1.1.17 version

OS Version: Windows 8.1 Pro, 64bit
Graphics Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
Graphics Driver Version: 347.52

Game version: 1.1.18 on both steam and non-steam
Game mode: Single Player
Bug Location: When loading a game (both existing save files and newly created games)
Steps to Reproduce: Start Void Expanse, either start a new single player game, or load an existing single player game
Reproduction Rate: 100%
Screenshot: https://www.dropbox.com/s/enwguk5juea1qc9/crash.jpg?dl=0
Bug Description: When Loading an existing game or on the laoding section of a new game (after the world creation screen) the game will stop working bringing up a windows dialog saying "VoidExpanse.exe is not responding" with the description "A problem caused this program to stop interacting with windows"
Logs:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/c6wjw70k3dljmls/Log_VoidExpanse_Client_2015-04-03_11-30.log?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/prxyf2zc1ydrnnj/Log_VoidExpanse_Server_2015-04-03_11-30.log?dl=0

ai_enabled

  • AtomicTorch Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1945
    • View Profile
Re: (1.1.18) Unable to load games, both newly created and exsiting.
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2015, 06:51:22 pm »
Hi!
Thanks for reporting! We're working on the fix.
Regards!

Ohfive30

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: (1.1.18) Unable to load games, both newly created and exsiting.
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2015, 01:01:21 am »
Just an additional note, I was able to get into a multiplayer game hosted by someone else, however, hosting a multiplayer game on my own machine and connecting to localhost has the same problems as starting a single player game.

-----edit-----
I've tried again and now get the same issue when connecting to a multiplayer game.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2015, 01:07:42 am by Ohfive30 »

ai_enabled

  • AtomicTorch Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1945
    • View Profile
Re: (1.1.18) Unable to load games, both newly created and exsiting.
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2015, 01:16:56 am »
Could you upload more logs please?

Ohfive30

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: (1.1.18) Unable to load games, both newly created and exsiting.
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2015, 07:15:24 am »
Sure, here's some more logs. I've tried re-installing the game but no luck. I am able to play on my laptop which is a windows 7 machine, but it'd be nice to have it working again on my desktop.

Logs created  when trying to start a new single player game.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/rxe4vx6vcg4pduo/Log_VoidExpanse_Client_2015-04-03_18-32.log?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/nevd77phuvur2jk/Log_VoidExpanse_Server_2015-04-03_18-33.log?dl=0

Logs created when trying to load into a multiplayer game that I found in the public games browser
https://www.dropbox.com/s/2c3qfy44abt6ajm/Log_VoidExpanse_Client_2015-04-03_23-49.log?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/mkyp5a8gmhrispt/Log_VoidExpanse_Server_2015-04-03_23-50.log?dl=0

Logs created when trying to connect to a server created on my own machine (localhost)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/79hevuu8m5xw5qm/Log_VoidExpanse_Server_2015-04-03_23-57.log?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/y7jv1m0upnkfq5c/Log_VoidExpanse_Client_2015-04-03_23-57.log?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/3knz1slgmef1xm6/Log_VoidExpanse_Server_2015-04-03_23-56.log?dl=0

Unfortunately I don't have any sort of crash dump files, all I get from windows is a message saying this program has stopped responding.



Creat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: (1.1.18) Unable to load games, both newly created and exsiting.
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2015, 07:36:57 am »
Piggybacking on this report, since I have the same issue. I can seemingly load games fine after starting the game, but if I "save and quit" and then try to load it again, it hangs as described by OP.

System: Win7 x64, AMD Radeon HD6870
Game Version: 1.1.8 (Steam)
Game Mode: Single Player

Message from Windows (from the "not responding" dialog):
Code: [Select]
Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name: AppHangB1
  Application Name: VoidExpanse.exe
  Application Version: 5.0.1.11919
  Application Timestamp: 5515372e
  Hang Signature: 1f50
  Hang Type: 0
  OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
  Locale ID: 1031
  Additional Hang Signature 1: 1f50d55a8852b9c8c4a5743008bfa42d
  Additional Hang Signature 2: 420e
  Additional Hang Signature 3: 420e3530e29b836084b3ff1a16a8fe61
  Additional Hang Signature 4: 1f50
  Additional Hang Signature 5: 1f50d55a8852b9c8c4a5743008bfa42d
  Additional Hang Signature 6: 420e
  Additional Hang Signature 7: 420e3530e29b836084b3ff1a16a8fe61

and here are the logs: LINK

Edit for Additional info: When I was trying to load the game, I did click outside the Window (I'm running borderless windowed, and "pause when minimized" is disabled, in case those matter) to read/scroll in a browser window on the second monitor during the loading process.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2015, 08:03:39 am by Creat »

GamesOnTheBrain

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: (1.1.18) Unable to load games, both newly created and exsiting.
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2015, 08:08:11 am »
For what it's worth, I purchased the game yesterday on Steam for my iMac running OS 10.9.

I'm seeing the same problem.

After creating a new single-player game and creating my character, it gets stuck on the loading screen.

I've yet to be able to play a game.

Creat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: (1.1.18) Unable to load games, both newly created and exsiting.
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2015, 08:26:05 am »
For what it's worth, I purchased the game yesterday on Steam for my iMac running OS 10.9.
...
I've yet to be able to play a game.

For what it's worth, I've been playing the game for quite a while before release, and significant problems like this are extremely rare and usually fixed very quickly. So I understand that the game hasn't made the best impression for you (yet), but I would expect that to be resolved very quickly. Really unfortunate that the first official release build has such a game breaking bug :(

GamesOnTheBrain

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: (1.1.18) Unable to load games, both newly created and exsiting.
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2015, 08:50:01 am »
For what it's worth, I've been playing the game for quite a while before release, and significant problems like this are extremely rare and usually fixed very quickly. So I understand that the game hasn't made the best impression for you (yet), but I would expect that to be resolved very quickly. Really unfortunate that the first official release build has such a game breaking bug :(

I understand. I figured it was an anomaly. I just hope the devs can fix it soon before the Steam page gets inundated with poor reviews.

ai_enabled

  • AtomicTorch Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1945
    • View Profile
Re: (1.1.18) Unable to load games, both newly created and exsiting.
« Reply #9 on: April 03, 2015, 09:10:19 am »
Thanks everybody for the provided logs and feedback. You can expect fix with the next build (in a 24 hours).
Regards!

GamesOnTheBrain

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: (1.1.18) Unable to load games, both newly created and exsiting.
« Reply #10 on: April 04, 2015, 09:44:37 am »
For what it's worth, I had no idea I needed to install Mono. That appears to be the reason why I couldn't start a single player game.

I only discovered that I needed to install Mono after seeing it in another thread.

ai_enabled

  • AtomicTorch Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1945
    • View Profile
Re: (1.1.18) Unable to load games, both newly created and exsiting.
« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2015, 10:31:58 am »
For what it's worth, I had no idea I needed to install Mono. That appears to be the reason why I couldn't start a single player game.

I only discovered that I needed to install Mono after seeing it in another thread.
Very strange as the game should notify about it when you run it. Will check it on my Mac, just need to remove Mono somehow...

You need to install Mono from http://www.mono-project.com/download/ (download Mono MDK). We will try to include it with the future releases.

To be clear - the Mono is required only on Mac and Linux, for Windows is not required.

GamesOnTheBrain

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: (1.1.18) Unable to load games, both newly created and exsiting.
« Reply #12 on: April 04, 2015, 11:26:06 am »
Very strange as the game should notify about it when you run it. Will check it on my Mac, just need to remove Mono somehow...

You need to install Mono from http://www.mono-project.com/download/ (download Mono MDK). We will try to include it with the future releases.

To be clear - the Mono is required only on Mac and Linux, for Windows is not required.

There was no notification.

For what it's worth, it's possible that I had an old version of Mono already installed and that it simply needed to be updated. (I think I may have installed it quite a while ago.) Perhaps that's why no Mono notification appeared.

ai_enabled

  • AtomicTorch Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1945
    • View Profile
Re: (1.1.18) Unable to load games, both newly created and exsiting.
« Reply #13 on: April 04, 2015, 05:36:02 pm »
There was no notification.

For what it's worth, it's possible that I had an old version of Mono already installed and that it simply needed to be updated. (I think I may have installed it quite a while ago.) Perhaps that's why no Mono notification appeared.
Yes, it's possible.
Is the issue resolved after installing latest Mono?
Regards!

GamesOnTheBrain

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: (1.1.18) Unable to load games, both newly created and exsiting.
« Reply #14 on: April 04, 2015, 06:36:52 pm »
Yes, it's possible.
Is the issue resolved after installing latest Mono?
Regards!

Yes, it seems to be working fine now.